Question ?

Overview

The collection at the Unithèque site covers the needs of undergraduate, Master’s and PhD studies in modern and comparative literature. It also responds, as far as possible, to the expectations of anyone with an interest in the subject.

The Riponne site houses a modern languages collection aimed at the general public.

Open shelves and stacks

The 70,000 volumes in the modern literature collection available in the open shelves are split across six collections of literature:

  • German
  • English (mainly British and American English)
  • Spanish
  • French
  • Italian
  • Comparative literature

The printed collections of modern and comparative literature are designed as consultation and research libraries. They include more topical and frequently requested academic publications, classics, critical editions, reference works and series. Nonetheless, these collections also aim to illustrate literary history and disciplines within the limits of the space available, without claiming to be exhaustive.

All volumes and DVD documentaries in the open shelves are arranged according to the Universal Decimal Classification.

A large number of printed items are stored in our closed stacks. These are available on request through the Renouvaud catalogue. We encourage permeability and a complementary approach between the two areas: items can be reclassified as necessary and books stored in the stacks are not necessarily of less interest than those in the open shelves.

Digital books can be easily found in the Renouvaud catalogue.

Collection development

Plans to develop the modern literature collections are defined in agreement with teaching staff in the various sections and research centres at UNIL. The period covered for literary texts and criticism extends from the Middle Ages to the 21st century.

Our primary focus is on publications in their original language, except for Latin and modern foreign languages that are not covered by the five main collections. Translations of literary texts into French are acquired for the comparative literature collection.

Development plans for the collections and their classification are described in more detail in the Collection Development and Classifications documents.

The development of the digital collections (e-books, online journals, archives, bibliographical databases, online dictionaries, etc.) also depends on the development plans for particular collections.

Access to documents

Renouvaud is the central point of access for searching digital journals and books at UNIL, and covers both our printed and electronic documents.

Modern and comparative literature databases are listed on our databases page.

All our digital resources can be accessed locally from the public computers in the library. Members of UNIL can access the digital collections remotely.

Printed items published before 1850 are stored in our stacks. Please refer to our Reference works and Search tools pages, where you will find all the information you need for your documentary research.

Une question ?

Vue d'ensemble

La collection du site Unithèque répond aux besoins des trois cycles d’études en littératures modernes et comparées. Elle répond également, dans la mesure du possible, aux attentes de toute personne intéressée.

Sur le site Riponne, vous trouvez une collection de langues modernes répondant aux besoins du grand public.

Libre-accès et magasins

Les 70’000 volumes des fonds de littératures modernes déposés en libre accès sont distribués sur six collections de littérature :

  • de langue allemande
  • de langue anglaise (surtout anglaise et américaine)
  • de de langue espagnole
  • de langue française
  • de langue italienne
  • de littératures comparées

Les collections imprimées de littératures modernes et comparées sont conçues comme des bibliothèques de consultation et de recherche. Les publications scientifiques plus actuelles et demandées, les classiques, les éditions critiques, les ouvrages de référence et les publications en série y sont valorisés. Néanmoins, ces collections visent également à illustrer des histoires littéraires et des disciplines, dans les limites de l’espace disponible et sans prétendre à l’exhaustivité.

Tous les volumes ainsi que les DVD documentaires en libre accès sont rangés selon la Classification Décimale Universelle.

Un grand nombre d’imprimés est conservé dans nos magasins fermés. Ils sont accessibles par demande sur le catalogue Renouveau. Nous favorisons la perméabilité entre ces deux espaces et leur complémentarité : les exemplaires peuvent être reclassés selon besoin, et les livres déposés en magasin n’ont pas forcément moins d’intérêt que ceux qui se trouvent en libre-accès.

Les livres numériques sont aisément repérables dans le catalogue Renouvaud.

Développement des fonds

Nous définissons les intentions de développement des fonds de littératures modernes en accord avec le corps enseignant des différentes sections et centres de recherche de l’UNIL. Pour les textes littéraires ainsi que la critique, la période couverte va du Moyen Age au 21e siècle.

Nous privilégions les publications en langue originale, faite exception pour le latin et toute langue moderne étrangère aux cinq langues correspondantes aux cinq collections principales. Les traductions en français des textes littéraires sont acquises pour le fonds de littératures comparées.

Les intentions de développement des collections et la classification sont décrites plus précisément dans les documents Développement des collections et Classifications.

Le développement des collections numérique (ebooks, revues online, archives, bases de données bibliographiques, dictionnaires online, etc.) dépend également des intentions de développement des fonds particuliers.

Accès aux documents

Renouvaud est le point d’accès central pour la recherche de revues et livres numériques à l’UNIL, et comprend nos documents imprimés et électroniques.

Les bases de données en littératures modernes et comparées sont répertoriées dans notre page des bases de données.

Sur place, vous avez accès à l’intégralité de nos ressources numériques sur les PC publics de la bibliothèque. Les membres de l’UNIL peuvent accéder à distance aux collections numériques.

Les imprimés publiés avant 1850 sont déposés dans nos magasins. Nous vous invitons à consulter les pages Documents de référence et Outils de recherche. Vous y trouverez toutes les informations nécessaires à vos recherches documentaires.