Question ?

Overview

The linguistics and modern languages collections have been created to meet the needs of the university community. They provide an overview of all language and information sciences.

Linguistics and modern languages are also represented at the Riponne and HEP sites, with a particular focus on language learning methods and language teaching.

Core collections

The development of the linguistics and modern languages collections is heavily dependent on the research areas prioritised by linguists in the Faculty of Arts at UNIL. The language sciences collection covers the following topics:

  • language acquisition and languages learning
  • contact with languages and multilingualism
  • functionalism
  • history of linguistics and specific languages
  • computational linguistics and information sciences
  • diachronic and historical linguistics and language variation
  • multimodality
  • phonetics and phonology
  • philology and genetics
  • pragmatics, including conversational analysis, discourse analysis, argumentation and textual linguistics
  • psycholinguistics and cognitive linguistics
  • sociolinguistics

The current strategy for developing the collection is explained in the document below (see bottom of page).

Over 13,000 monographs are available in the open shelves. Some of the highlights of the collection are as follows:

  • general or language-specific atlases of linguistics
  • dictionaries, encyclopaedias and textbooks
  • grammars and descriptions of specific languages
  • founding texts in the discipline

We mainly acquire documents in paper or digital format, in French and English, except for those in German, Italian and Spanish, which are acquired in their respective languages.

Location of collections

The most recent collections are kept in the open shelves of the Unithèque site, with the remaining of the collection in the stacks (items are available on request through the Renouvaud catalogue).

Monographs on language sciences, Romance and Indo-European languages can be found in the linguistics section, classified by field and topic. Monographs on English, German, French, Italian and Spanish languages can be found in their respective literature sections, classified by field and topic, and then by century for the history of languages.

Language atlases are stored in special units, near the linguistics free access section. A full list can be found in a dedicated document.

Publications related to linguistics can also be found in the anthropology, Greek and Latin (Classical Studies), Oriental Studies (Oriental languages), psychology, religion (Semitic languages), Slavic studies (Slavic languages) and sociology collections.

Printed journals can be found in a specific section of the open shelves, where they are classified in ascending numerical order. Several of them are also available online and accessible via Renouvaud, as with all digital resources in the collections.

Digital resources

Most digital resources (databases, journals and e-books) are under licence. This means that they are only available on UNIL computer workstations, on our public computers in the library or through authenticated access, which is only available to members of the university community in Lausanne.

All digital linguistics and modern languages journals can be accessed through the Renouvaud catalogue. The most important ones are under licence (access limited to the university community). It is easier to access journals in French through one of the three following portals:

The databases portal gives you access to all bibliographical databases specialising in linguistics and modern languages (Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft, Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics, International Encyclopedia of Linguistics), numerous language, etymological and historical dictionaries (Dictionary of Old English, Grand Corpus des grammaires françaises), and platforms that publish e-books and scientific journals (JSTOR, Oxford Scholarship Online). Finally, numerous resources are free online resources, For a general overview, please see the international online linguistics community website, The Linguist List.

Documents

The following documents will help you learn more about our acquisitions policy, find what you need and search the collections.

Une question ?

Vue d'ensemble

Les collections de linguistique et de langues modernes sont constituées pour répondre aux besoins de la communauté universitaire. Elles délivrent un aperçu de l’ensemble des sciences du langage et de l’information.

La linguistique et les langues modernes sont également représentées sur les sites Riponne et HEP avec un accent particulier sur les méthodes de langues et la didactique des langues.

Cœur des collections

L’alimentation des collections de linguistique et de langues modernes dépend fortement des pôles de recherche privilégiés par les linguistes de la Faculté des lettres de l’UNIL. Le fonds des sciences du langage couvre les thématiques suivantes :

  • acquisition du langage et des langues
  • contact des langues et plurilinguisme
  • fonctionnalisme
  • histoire de la linguistique et des langues particulières
  • linguistique computationnelle et sciences de l’information
  • linguistique diachronique et historique, variation des langues
  • multimodalité
  • phonétique et phonologie
  • philologie et génétique
  • pragmatique, dont l’analyse conversationnelle, l’analyse du discours, l’argumentation et la linguistique textuelle
  • psycholinguistique et linguistique cognitive
  • sociolinguistique

Les orientations actuelles du développement de la collection sont précisées dans un document (voir  en bas de page).

Plus de 13’000 monographies sont disponibles dans le libre-accès. Le fonds se distingue par les ressources documentaires suivantes :

  • atlas de linguistique, généraux ou propres à une langue
  • dictionnaires, encyclopédies et manuels de référence
  • grammaires et descriptions de langues particulières
  • textes fondateurs de la discipline

Nous acquérons principalement des documents, au format papier ou numérique, en français et en anglais, à l’exception de ceux concernant les langues allemande, italienne et espagnole, mis à disposition dans leurs langues respectives.

Localisation des collections

Les collections les plus actuelles sont déposées dans le libre-accès du site Unithèque, le solde dans les magasins (exemplaires obtenus sur demande via le catalogue Renouvaud).

Les monographies de sciences du langage, de langues romanes et indo-européennes vous attendent dans le secteur de linguistique classées par domaines et par thèmes. Les monographies de langues anglaise, allemande, française, italienne et espagnole vous attendent quant à elles dans les collections de leurs littératures respectives, classées par domaines et thèmes, puis par siècles pour l’histoire des langues.

Les atlas de linguistique sont entreposés dans des meubles spéciaux, près du libre-accès de linguistique. Un document en donne la liste exhaustive.

Par ailleurs, des publications en lien avec la linguistique figurent dans les collections d’anthropologie, de grec et de latin (antiques), d’orientalisme (langues orientales), de psychologie, de religion (langues sémitiques), de slavistique (langues slaves) et de sociologie.

Les revues imprimées se trouvent dans un libre-accès spécifique, où elles sont classées par ordre croissant des cotes. Plusieurs d’entre elles sont également disponibles au format numérique et accessibles via Renouvaud, comme l’ensemble des ressources numériques des collections.

Ressources numériques

La plupart des ressources à distance (bases de données, revues, ebooks) sont sous licence. Cela signifie qu’elles ne sont accessibles que sur les postes informatiques de l’UNIL, sur nos PC publics de la bibliothèque ou par l’intermédiaire d’un accès authentifié, réservé aux membres de la communauté universitaire lausannoise.

Il est possible d’accéder à l’ensemble des revues numériques de linguistique et de langues modernes via le catalogue Renouvaud. Les plus importantes d’entre elles sont sous licences (accès limité à la communauté universitaire). Vous consulterez plus facilement les revues en français par l’intermédiaire d’un des trois portails suivants :

Le portail des bases des données vous donne accès à l’ensemble des bases de données bibliographiques spécialisées en linguistique et langues modernes (Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft, Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics, International Encyclopedia of Linguistics), à de nombreux dictionnaires de langues, étymologiques et historiques (Dictionary of Old English, Grand Corpus des grammaires françaises), ainsi qu’aux plateformes d’e-books et de revues scientifiques (JSTOR, Oxford Scholarship Online).

Enfin, de nombreuses ressources sont disponibles en accès libre. Pour un panorama général, nous renvoyons au site de la Communauté internationale de linguistique en ligne, The Linguist List.

Documents

Les documents suivants vous aident à connaître la politique d’acquisition, à vous orienter et à faire vos recherches au sein des collections.