Question ?

Overview

Iconopôle was created on 1 March 2019. It houses collections with a link to the history of Vaud canton from a geographical, ethnographic, cultural and scientific point of view. It also offers access to documents linked to printing in French-speaking Switzerland, the history of the book and graphic communication. The best-represented period is between 1880 and 1970.

Access to resources

Iconopôle is in the process of producing inventories of its various sets and collections. These are gradually being published in the Patrinum database.

The latest items added can be viewed on this page.

Reproductions of items in the public domain are accessible from this page.

The Iconopôle curator is on hand to provide any information you may need.

History

The core of the history collection is the Collection iconographique vaudoise (CIV) and the Erik Nitsche collection, which brings together a set of original documents from the famous graphic artist from Lausanne (1908-1998).

The CIV, created in 1896 by the pastor Paul Vionnet and bequeathed to Vaud canton at the start of the 20th century, includes tens of thousands of phototypes (negatives, prints, albums, contact sheets and slides) linked to the iconography of Vaud canton (built heritage, movable items, Fête des Vignerons, means of transport, etc.). It also reflects Swiss and foreign events (the Universal Exhibition of 1889, missions to Africa, etc.). It is unusual in the fact that it contains thousands of items using a wide range of techniques (drawings, engravings, reproductions of images, ephemeral printed materials, archives, etc.).

The collection is organised by them and is currently the subject of a campaign aiming to make it accessible to the public and researchers.

Iconopôle has quickly been enhanced with donations illustrating the canton’s intangible heritage (Claude Bornand collections), built heritage (Eugène Würgler / Maison de l’Élysée collection, 1922) or the life of a graphics studio over 60 years (Fonds Pizzotti, acquisition pending).

Une question ?

Vue d'ensemble

L’Iconopôle a été créé le 1er mars 2019. Il conserve des collections qui présentent un intérêt pour l’histoire du canton de Vaud d’un point de vue géographique, ethnographique, culturel et scientifique. Il donne également accès à des documents en lien avec l’édition romande, l’histoire du livre et la communication graphique. La période la mieux représentée se situe entre 1880 et 1970.

Accès aux ressources

L’Iconopôle est en train d’établir des inventaires de ses différents fonds et lots. Ils sont progressivement publiés dans la base de données Patrinum.

Vous pouvez consulter les dernières pièces ajoutées sur cette page.

Les reproductions des pièces qui sont dans le domaine public sont accessibles sur cette page.

La conservatrice de l’Iconopôle se tient volontiers à disposition pour tout renseignement.

 

Historique

Son noyau principal s’articule autour du fonds de la Collection iconographique vaudoise (CIV) et du fonds Erik Nitsche regroupant un ensemble de documents originaux du célèbre graphiste lausannois (1908-1998).

La CIV, créée en 1896 par le pasteur Paul Vionnet puis léguée à l’État de Vaud au début du 20e siècle, inclut des dizaines de milliers de phototypes (négatifs, tirages, albums, planches-contacts, dias) en lien avec l’iconographie du canton de Vaud (patrimoine immobilier, objets mobiliers, Fête des Vignerons, moyens de locomotion, etc.). Elle reflète aussi des événements suisses et étrangers (Exposition universelle de 1889, missions en Afrique, etc.). Sa particularité réside dans le fait qu’elle contient des milliers de pièces aux techniques diverses (dessins, gravures, reproductions d’images, imprimés éphémères, archives, etc.).

Organisé par thématiques, ce Fonds fait actuellement l’objet d’une campagne visant à le rendre accessible au public et aux chercheurs.

L’Iconopôle s’est rapidement enrichi de donations qui illustrent le patrimoine immatériel du canton (lots Claude Bornand), le patrimoine immobilier (lot Eugène Würgler / Maison de l’Élysée, 1922) ou la vie d’un atelier de graphisme sur près de 60 ans (Fonds Pizzotti, en cours d’acquisition).