Question ?

Overview

Are you a musician and keen to expand your repertoire with rarely heard discoveries?

The musical archives contain scores by composers from French-speaking Switzerland in all genres. The documentary collections (correspondence, programmes, press cuttings, artists’ details and photographs) are a valuable source of information on musical life in western Switzerland.

 

Our collections

Founded in 1971, the musical archives department contains over 100 collections illustrating musical creativity in Vaud canton and French-speaking Switzerland from the mid-19th century to the present day.

Focused mainly on classical music, the musical archives also feature other styles, as evidenced by the collections of brass player Jean-François Bovard, percussionist Fritz Hauser or jazz pianist Sylvie Courvoisier, as well as the folk-music collections of André Pernet and André-Olivier Clerc. Contemporary music also plays an important part, with the collections of Jean Balissat, Pierre-André Bovey, William Blank, Fabio Maffei, Henri Scolari, Eric Gaudibert, Lionel Rogg and others.

The archives are also home to bequests by conductors, such as Igor Markevitch or Carl Schuricht, along with internationally renowned performers, such as Clara Haskil or Nikita Magaloff.

All our collections are catalogued in our Patrinum database.

Consult a document in the musical archives.

Audio documents

For conservation reasons, the musical archives do not store any audiovisual items. Audio recordings relevant to particular collections in the musical archives are stored at the Swiss National Sound Archive.

The two institutions’ shared collections are brought together virtually, and we are delighted to present the archives of performers such as pianist Clara Haskil or Vaud violinist Alfred Pochon (founder of the Quatuor du Flonzaley), composers such as Gustave Doret, Constantin Regamey, Eric Gaudibert and Henri Scolari or the JazzNyon Festival collection: Collections shared with the Swiss National Sound Archive.

Our publications

As everyone knows, archives are mainly linear metres of grey boxes that you can only view under supervision. But sometimes, the works are released from their boxes and get a makeover, like some of the manuscript scores in the musical archives published in our Editions series of scores.

All our scores are on sale by Editions Schola Cantorumat Payot Pépinet in Lausanne or can be ordered by email.

Links

The musical archives work in close collaboration with the other musical departments and the Manuscripts Department. More detailed information about the musical collections in Swiss archives and libraries can be found on the RISM Suisse website.

Collections

Biographical notes on Vaud musicians.

Discover

Une question ?

Vue d'ensemble

Vous êtes musicien et vous aimeriez élargir votre répertoire avec des découvertes rarement entendues ?

Vous trouverez aux Archives musicales des partitions de compositeurs romands de tous genres confondus. Les fonds documentaires (correspondance, programmes, coupures de presse, dossiers d’artistes, photographies) constituent une source précieuse d’information sur la vie musicale en Suisse romande.

 

Nos fonds

Fondé en 1971, le service des Archives musicales regroupe plus d’une centaine de fonds qui illustrent la création musicale dans le canton de Vaud et la Suisse romande du milieu du 19e siècle à nos jours.

Vouées essentiellement à la musique classique, les Archives musicales s’ouvrent aussi à d’autres styles, comme en témoignent les fonds du musicien de cuivres Jean-François Bovard, du percussionniste Fritz Hauser ou de la pianiste jazz Sylvie Courvoisier, mais aussi les collections de musique folklorique d’André Pernet et d’André-Olivier Clerc. La musique contemporaine tient une place importante avec les fonds de Jean Balissat, Pierre-André Bovey, William Blank, Fabio Maffei, Henri Scolari, Eric Gaudibert, Lionel Rogg et autres.

On y trouve également les legs de chefs d’orchestre comme Igor Markevitch ou Carl Schuricht et d’interprètes au rayonnement international comme Clara Haskil ou Nikita Magaloff.

Tous nos fonds sont catalogués dans notre base de données Patrinum.

Consulter un document des archives musicales.

Documents sonores

Pour des raisons de conservation, les Archives musicales ne sauvegardent pas de documents audiovisuels. Les supports sonores afférents à certains fonds des archives musicales sont conservés à la Phonothèque Nationale Suisse.

Afin de réunir de façon virtuelle ces fonds partagés entre nos deux institutions, nous avons le plaisir de vous présenter les archives d’interprètes tels que la pianiste Clara Haskil ou le violoniste vaudois Alfred Pochon (fondateur du Quatuor du Flonzaley), de compositeurs comme Gustave Doret, Constantin Regamey, Eric Gaudibert et Henri Scolari ou le fonds du Festival JazzNyon : Fonds partagés avec la Phonothèque nationale.

 

Nos publications

Tout le monde le sait, les archives c’est d’abord des mètres linéaires de boîtes grises qu’on ne peut consulter que sous surveillance. Mais parfois des œuvres sortent de leurs cartons et font peau neuve à l’instar de certaines partitions manuscrites des archives musicales publiées dans notre série d’Editions de partitions.

Toutes nos partitions sont en vente chez Payot Pépinet à Lausanne ou à commander par courriel : boutique@bcu.unil.ch

Liens

Les Archives musicales travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les autres services de musique ainsi qu’avec le service des Manuscrits. Vous trouverez de plus amples informations sur les collections musicales dans les archives et bibliothèques suisses sur le site web du RISM Suisse.

Collections

Notices biographiques des musiciens vaud[…]

Découvrir