Question ?

Vinciane Constantin
+41 21 692 48 47

Contact us

Overview

With over 30,000 documents in the open-access section, the Theology and Religious Studies collection focuses on two main areas: Biblical Studies and History of Religions. Sources occupy a significant place in the collection and support the academic study of the three monotheistic religions.

The Riponne site houses a spirituality and religion collection aimed at the general public.

Collection contents

The Biblical Studies area is the jewel of the collection and attracts numerous specialists in the field. It features the various versions of Biblical texts alongside an extensive collection of Old and New Testament studies and commentaries, as well as Jewish and Christian apocryphal literature.

Archaeological and palaeographical documents on the ancient Near East and the various Semitic religions form a historical and cultural basis for the study of Biblical texts. Specialists also have access to a wide range of resources for the study of Semitic languages, from Hebrew to Arabic, Sumerian to Syrian and including Akkadian, Ugaritic and Aramaic.

The history of religions covers the three monotheims (Oriental religions are included in the Oriental languages collection. While the history of Christianity occupies a dominant role, resources on the history of Judaism and Islam are likely to expand over the next few years.

Sociological and psychological approaches to religion and new forms of spirituality, as well as historical and anthropological approaches to the myths and religious rites of Western and non-Western societies, are also documented.

Numerous resources in moral, practical and dogmatic theology and ecclesiology provide dedicated support for theological and pastoral education.

Sources

The sources available focus specifically on the study of the three monotheistic religions: In brief, they include:

  • the main sacred texts (the Bible, Torah and Koran)
  • the Christian apocrypha, intertestamental literature and the Qumran scrolls
  • Greek and Latin writings by the Church Fathers
  • Christian theological sources from the Middle Ages to the modern and contemporary period, with a particular emphasis on the Reform.
  • the body of Jewish legal, homiletic and exegetical texts (the Midrash, Mishna, Talmud and Tosefta)
  • historical chronicles in Arabic from the Muslim mediaeval world, supported by biographical dictionaries
  • sources of Sunni Islamic law (Ḥanafism, Ḥanbalism, Mālikism, Shāfiʻism), Koranic exegeses and Sufi sources in Arabic (coming shortly)

Digital resources

Our databases, bibliographies and electronic encyclopaedias for theology and religious studies are accessible from a dedicated menu.

All digital theology and religious studies journals can be accessed through the Renouvaud catalogue.

Members of the university community can access these resources from home by logging in to the UNIL secure network.

 

Special collections

We supply the Documentation Centre of the Observatory for Religions in Switzerland (ORS, Anthropole 5035), which compiles studies of religion in Switzerland, as well as sources and primary documentation on churches, denominations and new religious movements (Scientology, Order of the Solar Temple (OTS), Mahikari, Baghwan, etc.), including pamphlets, tracts, speeches and more. Books in the ORS are only available for use in the library.

Users should also be aware of books from the former Bibliothèque des Cèdres, which are an integral part of our collections, but were withdrawn from open access in 2010, following the closure of the Maison des Cèdres. These books, which originally formed the library of pastors at the Église évangélique libre of Vaud Canton, are mainly on theology (dogmatics, history and practice). The collection will be made available again in 2024, following works to extend the Unithèque site.

Une question ?

Vue d'ensemble

Riche de + de 30’000 documents en libre-accès, la collection de théologie et sciences des religions se déploie selon deux axes forts : les sciences bibliques et l’histoire des religions. Les sources y occupent une place importante et soutiennent l’étude scientifique des trois religions monothéistes.

Sur le site Riponne, vous trouvez une collection de spiritualité et religion répondant aux besoins du grand public.

Contenu de la collection

Le domaine des études bibliques constitue le fleuron de la collection et attire de nombreux spécialistes du domaine. Les différentes versions des écrits bibliques y côtoient une riche collection d’études et commentaires vétéro et néo-testamentaires ainsi que la littérature apocryphe juive et chrétienne.

Des documents archéologiques et paléographiques sur le Proche-Orient ancien et les différentes religions sémitiques offrent une assise historico-culturelle à l’étude des textes bibliques. Les spécialistes disposent également d’un large référentiel pour l’étude des langues sémitiques : de l’hébreu à l’arabe, du sumérien au syriaque, en passant par l’akkadien, l’ougaritique et l’araméen.

L’histoire des religions couvre les trois monothéismes (les religions orientales font partie de la collection de Langues orientales). Si l’histoire du christianisme y occupe une place prépondérante, celles du judaïsme et de l’islam sont appelées à se développer dans les années à venir.

Les approches sociologiques, et psychologiques du fait religieux et des nouvelles spiritualités ainsi que les approches historico-anthropologiques des mythes et des rites des sociétés occidentales et extra-occidentales y sont également documentées.

De nombreuses ressources en théologie morale, pratique, dogmatique et en ecclésiologie accompagnent spécifiquement la formation théologique et pastorale.

Sources

Les sources proposées concernent spécifiquement l’étude des trois monothéismes. En voici un aperçu :

  • les principaux textes sacrés (Bible, Torah, Coran)
  • les apocryphes chrétiens , les écrits intertestamentaires, les manuscrits de Qumran
  • les écrits des Pères de l’Eglise grecs et latins
  • les sources théologiques chrétiennes du Moyen-âge jusqu’à la période moderne et contemporaine, avec un accent particulier sur la Réforme.
  • le corpus des textes légaux, homilétiques et exégétiques juifs (Midrash, Mishna, Talmud, Tosefta)
  • des chroniques historiques en arabe du monde musulman médiéval, accompagnées par des dictionnaires biographiques
  • les sources du droit musulman sunnite (Ḥanafisme, Ḥanbalisme, Mālikisme, Shāfiʻisme), des exégèses coraniques et sources soufies en arabe (à venir)

Ressources numériques

Les bases de données et les bibliographies et encyclopédies numériques en théologie et sciences des religions sont accessibles dans un menu spécifique.

Il est possible d’accéder à l’ensemble des revues numériques de théologie et sciences des religions par l’intermédiaire du catalogue Renouvaud.

Pour la communauté universitaire, l’accès à domicile nécessite de s’identifier via le réseau sécurisé de l’UNIL.

Collections particulières

Nous pourvoyons le Centre de Documentation de l’Observatoire des Religions en Suisse (ORS, Anthropole 5035) qui rassemble des études sur le fait religieux en Suisse, ainsi que des sources et de la documentation primaire sur les Eglises, les différentes confessions et les nouveaux mouvements religieux (Scientologie, OTS, Mahikari, Baghwan…) : pamphlets, tracts, discours, etc. Les livres de l’ORS sont consultables sur place uniquement.

Signalons les livres de l’ancienne bibliothèque des Cèdres qui font partie intégrante de nos collections, mais qui ont été retirés de la consultation en 2010 suite à la fermeture de la Maison des Cèdres. Ces ouvrages, qui formaient à l’origine la bibliothèque des pasteurs de l’Eglise évangélique libre du canton de Vaud, concernent principalement la théologie (dogmatique, historique, pratique). Cette collection sera à nouveau disponible en 2024, à la fin des travaux d’extension du site Unithèque.

Découvertes