Question ?

Overview

The biology, sciences and medicine collection at the Unithèque site mainly comprises essential documents for teaching and research at the Faculty of Biology and Medicine at the University of Lausanne.

The Riponne site houses a biology, sciences and medicine collection aimed at the general public.

Areas covered

The collection mainly focuses on the topics covered in teaching in the School of Biology and research subjects in the Departments of Fundamental Sciences in the Faculty of Biology and Medicine at UNIL. It covers the main fields of general and contemporary biology, while offering access to basic scientific knowledge.

The collection is not intended to cover topics other than those taught to first-year medical students. For a more specialist medical collection, refer to the University Medical Library.

Books

Located in the open shelves of the Unithèque site, the printed books portion of the collection consists of over 5,000 works. Less recent books can also be found in the stacks.

An increasing proportion of books in the collection can now be found in digital form. Access to these publications is limited to members of the university community or the public computers connected to the UNIL network (including workstations in the library).

The books in the collection also include the numerous titles recommended by teaching staff in the School of Biology at the Faculty of Biology and Medicine as course materials. Readers who are interested in these can easily identify and locate them using the themed collections created for this purpose.

All books at the Unithèque site are listed in the Renouvaud catalogue.

Journals

Located in the open shelves of the Unithèque site, the academic journals still received in printed form now consist of just a few titles. This is where you will find important titles for research purposes, such as Nature or Science, and a number of general-public titles, such as Sciences & Vie or La Recherche.

Almost all academic journals in the collection can now be found in digital form. Access to these journals is limited to members of the university community or the public computers connected to the UNIL network (including workstations in the library).

All journals at the Unithèque site are listed in the Renouvaud catalogue. However, their contents are not systematically referenced.

Search tools

Some specialist tools:

  • PubMed (open access): A specialist bibliographical database, covering peer-reviewed biomedical scientific literature. The benefits of this tool are the MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing of references and universal access.
  • Web of Science (paid access): A multidisciplinary bibliographical databases platform covering peer-reviewed scientific literature. The advantages of this tool are its citation indexes (Science Citation Index Expanded, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index, etc.).
  • InCites – JCRESI (paid access): Analytical and benchmarking tools for scientific research, based on performance indicators (articles published in academic journals by institution and domain, with article citations). You will need to create a user account to access these tools.
  • BioOne Complete (paid access): Specialist bibliographical database covering peer-reviewed scientific literature in the areas of biology, ecology and the environment. The advantage of this tool is that it references and provides access to articles in academic journals that are less well represented in other bibliographical databases.

Other useful information research tools can be found on our databases page.

Une question ?

Vue d'ensemble

La collection de biologie, sciences et médecine du site Unithèque est principalement constituée de documents essentiels aux enseignements et à la recherche de la Faculté de biologie et de médecine de l’Université de Lausanne.

Sur le site Riponne, vous trouvez une collection de biologie, sciences et médecine répondant aux besoins du grand public.

Domaines développés

La collection développe principalement les thématiques abordées dans les enseignements de l’Ecole de Biologie et les sujets de recherches des départements des sciences fondamentales de la Faculté de biologie et de médecine de l’UNIL. Elle couvre les grands champs de la biologie générale et contemporaine tout en offrant l’accès aux connaissances scientifiques de base.

La collection n’a pas pour objectif de développer des thématiques médicales au-delà de celles enseignées aux étudiants en médecine de 1ère année. Pour une collection médicale plus spécialisée, adressez-vous à la Bibliothèque universitaire de médecine.

Livres

Située dans le libre-accès du site Unithèque, la part des livres imprimés de la collection est constituée de + de 5’000 ouvrages. Des livres moins récents se trouvent également dans les magasins.

Une part grandissante des livres de la collection se trouve désormais sous forme numérique. L’accès à ces ouvrages est limité aux membres de la communauté universitaire ou aux PC publics appartenant au réseau de l’UNIL (y c. les postes de la bibliothèque).

Parmi les livres de la collection, se trouvent notamment les nombreux titres que le corps enseignant de l’Ecole de Biologie de la Faculté de biologie et de médecine recommande comme support de cours. Les personnes intéressées par ces livres peuvent facilement les identifier et les localiser à l’aide des collections thématiques créées dans ce but.

Tous les livres du site Unithèque sont répertoriés dans le catalogue Renouvaud.

Revues

Situés dans le libre-accès du site Unithèque, la part des revues scientifiques encore reçues sous formes imprimées n’est constituée que de quelques titres. Vous y trouvez des titres importants pour la recherche comme Nature ou Science, ainsi que quelques titres grands publics comme Sciences & Vie ou La Recherche.

La quasi-totalité des revues scientifiques de la collection se trouve désormais sous forme numérique. L’accès à ces revues est limité aux membres de la communauté universitaire ou aux PC publics appartenant au réseau de l’UNIL (y c. les postes de la bibliothèque).

Toutes les revues scientifiques du site Unithèque sont répertoriées dans le catalogue Renouvaud. Leurs contenus n’y sont cependant pas systématiquement référencés.

Outils de recherche

Quelques outils spécialisés :

Base de données bibliographiques spécialisée couvrant une littérature scientifique biomédicale revue par les pairs. Les avantages de cet outil sont l’indexation MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) des références et son accès universel.

Plateforme de bases de données bibliographiques multidisciplinaires couvrant une littérature scientifique revue par les pairs. Les avantages de cet outil sont ses indexes de citations (Science Citation Index Expanded, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index, etc.).

Outils d’analyse et de benchmarking de la recherche scientifique compilant des indicateurs de performances (articles publiés dans des journaux scientifiques par institution et par domaine, citations de ces articles). La création d’un compte utilisateur est nécessaire pour pouvoir y accéder.

Base de données bibliographiques spécialisée couvrant une littérature scientifique revue par les pairs dans les domaines de la biologie, l’écologie et l’environnement. L’avantage de cet outil est de référencer et de donner accès aux articles de revues scientifiques peu représentées dans d’autres bases de données bibliographiques.

D’autres outils de recherche d’information utiles peuvent être obtenus en consultant notre page de bases de données.